Unified Grocers Exec Elected CGA Chairman

SACRAMENTO, CA (Dec. 5, 2014) – Joe Falvey, Senior Vice President and President, Market Centre Inc., for Unified Grocers, Inc., was elected the 2014-2015 California Grocers Association Chairman of the Board of Directors at the Association’s Annual Meeting on Dec. 5, 2014.


As Chair, Falvey will oversee CGA’s numerous legislative, educational, communications and industry-related programs. The Association is comprised of more than 300 retail companies operating more than 6,000 stores in California and Nevada. The chair serves for one year. He succeeds Immediate Past Chair Mary Kasper, Fresh & Easy.

“Joe’s extensive knowledge of the grocery industry, particularly here in California, will be of tremendous value to the Association,” said CGA President and CEO Ronald K. Fong. “He has strong professional relationships throughout the industry and is very well respected by his peers. The Board and staff look forward to his leadership in the coming year.”

At Unified Grocers, Falvey is responsible for Market Centre, the company’s subsidiary that distributes, sells and markets specialty, natural, ethnic foods, as well as candy, general merchandise and seasonal products and services.

In addition to Falvey, the following individuals were elected to the 2014-2015 CGA Board of Directors Executive Committee: First Vice Chair, Kevin Konkel, Raley’s; Second Vice Chair, Diana Godfrey, Smart & Final Stores; Treasurer, Jim Wallace, Albertsons, LLC; Secretary, Bob Parriott, Twain Harte Market; and Immediate Past Chair, Mary Kasper, Fresh & Easy.

Chairman’s appointments to the Executive Committee include: Dave Jones, Kellogg Company; Kendra Doyel, Ralphs Grocery Company; and Kevin Arceneaux, Mondelez International Inc.

Outgoing Chair Mary Kasper hands gavel to Joe Falvey.
Outgoing Chair Mary Kasper hands gavel to Joe Falvey.

Directors elected to their first full three-year term include: Rich Arnold, Oberto Brands; Art Jackson, Costco Wholesale; Lynn Melillo, Bristol Farms; and Denny Silva, Coca-Cola Refreshments.

Directors elected to their second three-year term include: Brent Cotton, The Hershey Company; Casey McQuaid, E. & J. Gallo Winery; Dan Meyer, Stater Bros. Markets; Phil Miller, C&S Wholesale Grocers; and Mike Stamper, Nestle, DSD.

Former CGA Chair Kevin Davis, Bristol Farms, was elected an honorary board member.

# # #

The California Grocers Association is a non-profit, statewide trade association representing the food industry since 1898. CGA represents approximately 300 retail members operating over 6,000 food stores in California and Nevada, and approximately 200 grocery supplier companies.