Raley’s Exec Elected CGA Chair

Grocery Executive To Serve One-Year Term As Chair.

SACRAMENTO, CA (Dec. 4, 2015) – Kevin Konkel, Senior Vice President, Store Operations, for Raley’s Family of Fine Stores was elected the 2015-2016 California Grocers Association Chairman of the Board of Directors at the Association’s Annual Meeting on Dec. 4, 2015.

konkelwebsiteAs Chair, Konkel will lead the Board’s strategy regarding CGA’s numerous legislative, educational, communications and industry-related programs. The Association is comprised of more than 300 retail companies operating more than 6,000 stores in California and Nevada. The chair serves for one year. He succeeds Immediate Past Chair Joe Falvey, Unified Grocers, Inc.

“Kevin is known in our industry not only as a stellar and experienced grocery executive, but also as a connector and facilitator,” says CGA President Ron Fong. “You are just as likely to find him meeting with a new industry start-up as you would running a strategy and marketing meeting with a roomful of industry veterans. We are fortunate to have him as our Chair this coming year.”

In addition to Konkel, the following individuals were elected to the 2015-2016 CGA Board of Directors Executive Committee: First Vice Chair, Diana Godfrey, Smart & Final Stores; Second Vice Chair, Jim Wallace, Albertsons Companies Inc.; Treasurer, Bob Parriott, Twain Harte Market; Secretary, Kendra Doyel, Ralphs Grocery Co.; and Immediate Past Chair, Joe Falvey, Unified Grocers, Inc.

Chairman’s appointments to the Executive Committee include: Dave Jones, Kellogg Company; Phil Miller, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Inc., and Kevin Arceneaux, Mondelez International Inc. Dennis Darling, Foods Etc., was appointed as a non-voting committee member.

Directors elected to their first full three-year term include: Denny Belcastro, Kimberly-Clark Corp.; Bob Bukovec, Tyson Foods, Inc.; Steve Dietz, Tony’s Fine Foods; Ryan Jost, Procter & Gamble; Michel LeClerc, Holiday/Sav-Mor Foods, Mark McLean, CROSSMARK; and Doug Todd, PepsiCo Inc.

Directors elected to their second three-year term include: Jon Alden, Jelly Belly Candy Co.; Renee Amen, Super A Foods, Inc.; Teresa Anaya, Northgate Gonzalez Markets; Joe Angulo, El Super (Bodega Latina Corp.); Eric Lindberg, Grocery Outlet, Inc.; David Madden, MillerCoors; Hee-Sook Nelson, Gelson’s Markets; and Bob Richardson, The Clorox Company.

Former CGA Chair Mary Kasper, Unified Grocers Inc., was elected an honorary board member.