Phil Miller Elected Board Chair

Phil Miller, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Elected Chair of the California Grocers Association Board of Directors

SACRAMENTO, CA (Dec. 6, 2019) – Phil Miller, Vice President, West Region, was elected the 2019-2020 California Grocers Association Chair of the Board of Directors at the Association’s Annual Meeting on Dec. 6, 2019 in San Diego, Calif.

As Chair, Miller will lead the Board’s strategy regarding CGA’s numerous legislative, educational, communications and industry-related programs. The Association is comprised of more than 300 retail companies operating more than 6,000 stores in California and Nevada. The chair serves for one year. He succeeds Immediate Past Chair Kendra Doyel, Ralphs Grocery Company.

“Phil has been a tremendous CGA advocate and I know will serve the Association well in the coming year,” said CGA President & CEO Ron Fong. “He has a keen understanding of the unique challenges and opportunities facing our industry.”

In addition to Miller, the following individuals were elected to the 2019-2020 CGA Board of Directors Executive Committee: First Vice Chair, Hee-Sook Nelson, Gelson’s Markets; Second Vice Chair, Renee Amen, Super A Foods; Treasurer, Dennis Darling, Foods Etc.; Secretary, Lynn Melillo, Bristol Farms; and Immediate Past Chair, Kendra Doyel, Ralphs Grocery Co.

Directors elected to their first full three-year term include: Doug Christman, Beverages & More, Inc.; Sergio Gonzalez, Northgate Gonzalez Markets; Bryan Jankans, Mondeléz International; Joe Mueller, Kellogg Company; Subriana Pierce, Navigator Sales & Marketing; Chris Podesto, Food 4 Less-Stockton/Rancho San Miguel; Jaclyn Rosenberg, Nielsen; Jeff Schmiege, Unilever; Greg Sheldon, Anheuser-Busch InBev.

Directors elected to their second three-year term include: Willie Crocker, Bimbo Bakeries USA; Damon Franzia, Classic Wines of California; Jonathan Mayes, Albertsons Companies, Inc.; Doug Minor, Numero Uno Market, Inc.; Mike Ridenour, The Kraft Heinz Co.; Elliott Stone, Mollie Stone’s Markets; Joe Toscano, Nestlé Purina Petcare; and Richard Wardwell, Superior Grocers.

Chair appointments to the Executive Committee include; Denny Belcastro, Kimberly-Clark Corp.; Steve Dietz, United Natural Foods, Inc.; and Casey McQuaid, E&J Gallo Winery. Former CGA Chair Bob Parriott, Twain Harte Markets, was elected an honorary board member.