Pavilions Executive Elected CGA Chair

SACRAMENTO, CA (Dec. 2, 2016) – Jim Wallace, Vice President and General Manager of Pavilions, was elected the 2016-2017 California Grocers Association Chairman of the Board of Directors at the Association’s Annual Meeting on Dec. 2, 2016. Pavilions is a banner of The Albertsons Companies, which also owns and operates Albertsons, Safeway and Vons stores in California.

Incoming chair Jim Wallace (right) takes gavel from Outgoing Chair Kevin Konkel.

As Chair, Wallace will lead the Board’s strategy regarding CGA’s numerous legislative, educational, communications and industry-related programs. The Association is comprised of more than 300 retail companies operating more than 6,000 stores in California and Nevada. The chair serves for one year. He succeeds Immediate Past Chair Kevin Konkel, Raley’s Family of Fine Stores.

“CGA is extremely fortunate to have someone with Jim’s extensive industry knowledge and experience at its helm,” says CGA President Ron Fong. “CGA staff looks forward to working with Jim in the coming year. I’m confident it will be a very productive year for the Association.”

In addition to Wallace, the following individuals were elected to the 2016-2017 CGA Board of Directors Executive Committee: First Vice Chair, Bob Parriott, Twain Harte Market; Second Vice Chair, Kendra Doyel, Ralphs Grocery Co Treasurer, Phil Miller, C&S Wholesale; Secretary, Hee-Sok Nelson, Gelson’s Markets; and Immediate Past Chair, Kevin Konkel, Raley’s Family of Fine Stores.

Chairman’s appointments to the Executive Committee include: Dave Jones, Kellogg Company; Kevin Arceneaux, Mondelez International Inc.; and Renee Amen, Super A Foods. Independent Operator Committee Chair Dennis Darling, Foods Etc., was re-elected to the Executive Committee.

Directors elected to their first full three-year term include: Leon Bergmann, Unified Grocers, Inc.; Bary Benun, Anheuser-Busch InBev; Cindy Chikahisa, Sprouts Farmers Market; Willie Crocker, Bimbo Bakeries USA; Damon Franzia, Classic Wines of California; Ted Gardner, Rio Ranch Markets; Dave Jones, Kellogg Company; Jonathan Mayes, Albertsons Companies, Inc.; Joe McDonnell, Campbell Soup Company; Doug Minor, Numero Uno Market; Laura Price, Nielsen; Mike Ridenour, The Kraft Heinz Group; Elliott Stone, Mollie Stone’s Market; Joe Toscano, Nestle Purina PetCare; Michael Walton, Unilever; and, Richard Wardwell, Superior Grocers.

Directors elected to their second three-year term include: Kevin Arceneaux, Mondelez International; Chris Podesto, Food 4 Less-Stockton, Rancho San Miguel; and Jim Van Gorkom, NuCal Foods.

Former CGA Chair Joe Favley, Unified Grocers Inc., was elected an honorary board member.

# # #

The California Grocers Association is a non-profit, statewide trade association representing the food industry since 1898. CGA represents approximately 300 retail members operating over 6,000 food stores in California and Nevada, and approximately 200 grocery supplier companies.