Kevin Davis, Bristol Farms, Elected California Grocers Association Chairman of the Board


Contact: Dave Heylen, V.P. Communications California Grocers Association
Tel: 916.448.3545
Fax: 916.448.2793 1415 L Street, Suite 450
Sacramento, CA 95814
E-mail: [email protected]

Grocery Executive To Serve One-Year Term As Chair

SACRAMENTO, CA (Nov. 30, 2012) – Kevin Davis, President and Chief Executive Officer of Bristol Farms, was elected the 2012-2013 California Grocers Association Chairman of the Board of Directors at its Annual Meeting on Nov. 30, 2012.

As Chairman, Davis will lead the Association’s strategy over the numerous legislative, educational and industry related programs. CGA is comprised of more than 400 retail companies operating more than 6,000 stores in California and Nevada. The chair serves for one year. He succeeds Immediate Past Chair Jonathan Mayes, Senior Vice President of Public Affairs, Government Relations, Corporate Social Responsibility and Philanthropy for Safeway Inc.,

“Kevin is a dynamic, knowledgeable grocery executive who brings to the table years of experience in the food industry,” said CGA President and CEO Ronald K. Fong. “He has proven to be a valuable resource for the Association. He has a keen understanding of how the grocery industry works.”

In addition to Davis, the following individuals were elected to the 2012-2013 CGA Board of Directors Executive Committee: First Vice Chair, Mary Kasper, Fresh & Easy Neighborhood Market; Second Vice Chair, John Quinn, Food 4 Less (Stockton)/Times Supermarkets; Treasurer, Kevin Konkel, Raley’s; Secretary, Joe Falvey, Unified Grocers, Inc.; and Immediate Past Chair, Jonathan Mayes, Safeway Inc.

This year’s Chairman’s appointments to the Executive Committee include: Dave Jones, Kellogg Company, Mike Read, WinCo Foods, Inc.; and Dora Wong, Coca-Cola Refreshments.

Directors elected for their first full three-year term include: Renee Amen, Super A Foods; Teresa Anaya, Northgate Gonzalez Markets; Joe Angulo, Bodega Latina dba El Super; Eric Nadworny, Save Mart Supermarkets; Kendra Doyel, Ralphs Grocery Co.; Eric Lindberg, Jr., Grocery Outlet; Hee-Sook Nelson, Gelson‟s Markets; Naresh Solanki, Bestway Markets; John Swindell, Food 4 Less/Kroger; Paul Turcotte, Pepsi Beverages Company; Jon Alden, Jelly Belly Candy Co.; Denny Belcastro, Hillshire Brands Company; and Bob Richardson, The Clorox Company.

“This is the largest „freshmen‟ class in quite some time,” said Fong. “It demonstrates the strength of CGA and the confidence our industry has in the Association.”

Former Chairman of the Board Jim Amen, Super A Foods, Inc., was nominated an Honorary Board Member.

The California Grocers Association is a non-profit, statewide trade association representing the food industry since 1898. CGA represents approximately 400 retail members operating over 6,000 food stores in California and Nevada, and approximately 200 grocery supplier companies.