George Frahm, Stater Bros. Markets, Elected California Grocers Association Chairman of the Board


Contact: Dave Heylen, V.P. Communications California Grocers Association
Tel: 916.448.3545
Fax: 916.448.2793
E-mail: [email protected]

California Grocers Association
1415 L Street, Suite 450
Sacramento, CA 95814


SACRAMENTO (Dec. 3, 2009) – George Frahm, Executive Vice President, Retail Operations & Administration for Stater Bros. Markets, San Bernardino, CA, was elected California Grocers Association’s 2009-2010 Chairman of the Board of Directors at its Annual Meeting on Dec. 3, 2009.

As Chairman, Frahm will oversee the Association’s numerous programs. CGA is comprised of more than 400 retail companies operating more than 6,000 stores in California and Nevada. The chair serves for one year. He succeeds Immediate Past Chair Bob Ling, Executive Vice President, General Counsel, Unified Grocers, Inc., based in Commerce, California.

“George is a real grocer’s grocer,” says CGA President and Chief Executive Officer Ronald Fong. “He is a good businessman with a broad understanding and a deep commitment to our industry. We look forward to his leadership in the coming year.”

In addition to Frahm, the following individuals were elected to the CGA Board of Directors Executive Committee: First Vice Chair, Jim Amen, Super A Foods, Inc.; Second Vice Chair, Mike Silveira, Save Mart Supermarkets; Treasurer, John Quinn, Food 4 Less (Stockton)/Times Supermarkets; Secretary, Mike Stigers, PW Supermarkets; Past Chair, Bob Ling, Unified Grocers, Inc.

This year’s Chairman’s appointments to the Executive Committee include: John LeGuluche, Kraft Foods Global, Inc.; Bill Cote, Superior Grocers, and Jonathan Mayes, Safeway Inc.

Directors elected for a second three-year term include: Norm Carhill, Ralphs Grocery Co.; Kevin Davis, Bristol Farms; Richard Draeger, Draeger’s Supermarkets; William Healy, Bell Carter Foods, Inc.; John Pellington, Focus Brands West; Jim Schulz, International Paper; and Donna Tyndall, Gelson’s Markets.

Directors elected for their first full three-year term include: Dan Atkins, Pepsi Bottling Group; Jim Pirie, Sara Lee Food & Beverage, Dirk Stump, Stump’s Markets; and Sam Tibbitts, Holiday/Sav-Mor Foods.

Former Chairman of the Board Richard Morgan, Jr., Holiday/Sav-Mor Foods, was nominated an Honorary Board Member.

The California Grocers Association is a non-profit, statewide trade association representing the food industry since 1898. CGA represents approximately 450 retail members operating over 6,000 food stores in California and Nevada, and approximately 200 grocery supplier companies.