Fong Receives National Award

Ronald Fong Honored with NGA Association Leadership Award

April 11, 2018 – Arlington, VA – The National Grocers Association (NGA) today presented Ronald Fong, California Grocers Association (CGA) President and CEO with its Association Leadership Award for his commitment and service to the independent supermarket industry.

Peter Larkin, NGA, with Ron Fong, CGA.

“On behalf of the independent supermarket industry, I am pleased to honor and recognize Ron for his talent and dedication for the independent supermarket industry. Ron has been a passionate and enthusiastic industry leader throughout his career in his government relations work and successfully helping CGA to grow its membership,” said Peter J. Larkin, president and CEO, NGA.

Fong assumed the reigns of CGA as President and Chief Executive Officer on March 31, 2008.  CGA serves a large and diverse membership comprised of 400 retail members, which includes national and regional grocery chains, independent operators, convenience stores and grocery wholesalers, and over 150 manufacturers and suppliers. As CGA’s president and CEO he is responsible the association’s strategic direction and staff which includes departments in government relations, communications and business conferences. He is also President to the CGA Educational Foundation, which funds college scholarships and tuition reimbursement to member employees and their family members.

During his tenure at CGA, Fong worked to defeat California’s Proposition 37, the mandatory GMO labeling for grocery retail, the passage of SB 270, the first statewide plastic bag ban, and most notably, he successfully navigated the merger of the California Independent Grocers Association into CGA while ensuring that a strong voice for the state’s independent operators would be maintained.

Fong joined the association after 12 years with the California Credit Union League (CCUL) where he was Vice President of State Government Affairs. He was responsible for the League’s 10-person Sacramento office and directed its advocacy program.

Prior to that, he was Corporate President for United Market, Inc., his family’s independent grocery company operating neighborhood stores in the Sacramento region. He grew up working in his family’s stores and understands the grocery industry from the backroom to the boardroom. His grandfather started Carmichael Supermarket in 1941, the first grocery market in his home town of Carmichael.

NGA initiated this award over a decade ago to honor and recognize state association executives who work tirelessly in their states on behalf of the independent supermarket industry.

Past recipients of this special recognition include Kathy Kuzava, President of the Georgia Food Industry Association, Tom Woodmansee, former president of the North Dakota Grocers Association, Brandon Scholz, President and CEO of the Wisconsin Grocers Association; Jan Gee, president and CEO of the Washington Food Industry Association; Kathy Siefken, executive director of the Nebraska Grocery Industry Association; Jim Olsen, president of the Food Industry Association Executives; Tom Jackson, former president/CEO of the Ohio Grocers Association; Dan Shaul, state director of the Missouri Grocers Association; Jim Rogers, retired president and CEO of the Food Industry Alliance of New York; Pat Hicks, retired executive director Kentucky Grocers Association; and Jerry Fleagle, former president and CEO Iowa Grocery Industry Association.

Photo (l to r): Aaron Moreno, CGA; Kevin Davis, Bristol Farms; Leslie Sarasin, FMI, Ron Fong, CGA; Peter Larkin, NGA; Stacia Levenfeld, Save Mart Supermarkets; Kate Stille, Nugget Markets