CGA Elects New Chair, New Board Members

Mary Kasper, Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, Fresh & Easy Neighborhood Market Inc., was elected the 2013-2014 California Grocers Association Chair of the Board of Directors at its Annual Meeting on Dec. 6, 2013.

As Chair, Kasper will oversee the Association’s numerous legislative, educational, communications and industry-related programs. CGA is comprised of more than 350 retail companies operating more than 6,000 stores in California and Nevada. The chair serves for one year. She succeeds Immediate Past Chair Kevin Davis, President and CEO, Bristol Farms.

“Mary’s extensive government relations and legal expertise, coupled with her considerable knowledge of the grocery industry, is a real plus for the Association,” said CGA President and CEO Ronald K. Fong. “Her positive attitude and ability to work effectively with such a diverse Board of Directors are tremendous assets. The Board and staff look forward to her leadership in the coming year.”

In addition to Kasper, the following individuals were elected to the 2013-2014 CGA Board of Directors Executive Committee: First Vice Chair, Joe Falvey, Unified Grocers, Inc.; Second Vice Chair, Kevin Konkel, Raley’s; Treasurer, Mike Read, WinCo Foods, Inc.; Secretary, Diana Godfrey, Smart & Final Stores; and Immediate Past Chair, Kevin Davis, Bristol Farms.

Chairman’s appointments to the Executive Committee include: Dave Jones, Kellogg Company, and Dora Wong, Coca-Cola Refreshments.

Directors elected for their first full three-year term include: Kevin Arceneaux, Mondelez International; Brian Dowling, Safeway Inc.; Robin Graf, Whole Foods Market; Keith Olscamp, Campbell Soup Company; Chris Podesto, Food 4 Less/San Miguel Markets; Chris Polak, Unilever; Mimi Song, Superior Grocers; Tiernan Summins, Kraft Foods Group, Inc.; and Jim Van Gorkom, NuCal Foods.

Directors elected for their second three-year term include: Raul Aguilar, Anheuser-Busch InBev; Paul Cooke, Nestle Purina PetCare; Jon Giannini, Nutricion Fundamental, Inc.; Dave Jones, Kellogg Company; and Omar Milbis, Rio Ranch Markets.

Former CGA Chair Jonathan Mayes was nominated as an honorary board member.

Photo: Outgoing Chair Kevin Davis passes the gavel to Incoming Chair Mary Kasper.