CGA Awards First “Legislator of the Year”

California State Senators Steven Glazer (D-Orinda) and Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg) were the inaugural recipients of the California Grocers Association “Legislator of the Year” award.

The lawmakers received the prestigious award at CGA’s 2017 Grocers Day at the Capitol on April 18, 2017, in Sacramento. The senators were recognized for their ongoing efforts in trying to help repair the state’s troubled Beverage Container Recycling Program.

Both senators are co-authors of legislation (SB 60) that would suspend penalties for store operators that are unserved by a parking lot recycling center due to a closure that occurred between January and March of 2016, or a government action.

State law, AB 2020, requires grocers to redeem beverage containers if there is not a recycling center in their convenience zone. More than 200 recycling centers have closed in the past two years due to a variety of reasons including the bottom dropping out of the plastics market due to lower petroleum prices worldwide.

“Our members are extremely appreciative of the efforts both these senators have made in helping us seek resolution to this important industry issue,” said CGA President Ron Fong. “Both Senators Glazer and McQuire are worthy recipients of this brand new award.”